Midland Golf Union

Tel: 01754 763159EmailFollow Us

Past and Present Championships

The Midland Counties Amateur Strokeplay Championship (renamed The Midland Closed Amateur in 1976)

First played in September 1895 at Sutton Coldfield Golf Club, and apart from the War Years 1915-1918 and 1940-1946, has been played every year.
It has been played over 36 holes, except for 1895 and 1997 when it was 18 holes, 1972 to 1975 when it was 54 holes, and 1976 to 1991 over 72 holes.

The Midland Club Team Championship

Introduced in 1895 and played concurrently with the Midland Counties Amateur Strokeplay Championship until 1975 when the team consisted of three players each playing 18 holes. From 1976 to 1991 the team was two players playing 72 holes. From 1992 to the present day the team is two players playing 36 holes. The original trophy, the "Gazette" Cup, is still held by the winners.

The Frank Carr Memorial Trophy

Introduced in 1919 in memory of Frank Carr and awarded to the best aggregate score for the round of the first day (team event) and the two rounds of the second day (individual championship). Last played in 1975.

The Midland Open

Introduced in 1923, a 36 hole medal competition played by both the Professionals and the Amateurs of the Midlands. Apart  from the years affected by the War (1939-1946 and 1985 to 1991) when funds were not available, it was played from 1923 to 1996 when it ceased due to lack of sponsorship.

The Midland Boys Amateur Championship

Instituted in 1950, and played every year to present date over 36 holes (apart from 1982 when only 27).

The Midland Open Amateur Championship

Introduced in 1976 in view of the fact that the Midlands did not have an open top-ranking event for amateurs. Originally held concurrently with the Midland Counties Amateur Strokeplay Championship, but with two courses being used instead of one. Played over 72 holes over two days (only 40 and those tying after 36 holes qualify for second day).
Except for 1979, when held at Copt Heath & Olton, it was held at Little Aston and Sutton Coldfield from 1976 to 2000. It is now being taken around the Counties still using two courses. The Frank Carr Memorial Cup (see above) was held by the winner until stolen in 1982.

The Midland Senior Amateur Championship

Instituted 1985 and played every year over 18 holes up to the present date apart from 1998 (weather conditions). Competitors have to be over the age of 54, and age groups comprise of 55 to 59, 60 to 64, 65 to 69, 70 to 74, and 75 and over. There have been a number of entries with an age of 80 and over.

The Midland Youths Championship

Introduced in 1987 as part of an open Youths Competition over 72 holes held at Stoke Rochford Golf  Club every year. The winner holds the salver presented by J.W. Keymer in 1987.

The Midland Senior Club Team Championship

Introduced in 1988 and held concurrently with the Midland Senior Amateur Championship. The winners (2 players per team) hold the Whitworth/Skerritt Shield which was presented by John Whitworth, English Senior Champion in 1982, and Peter Skerritt, Midland Champion in 1954.

Midland Counties Boys League

Introduced in 1990, the winning County holds the salver given by the Union in that year.

Midland Order of Merit

Introduced in 1991 by three well-know Staffordshire & Midland Players - David Beech, David Boughey, and Steve Wild. The administration was taken over by the Union in 1994. Eleven events (one nomination from each of the ten Member County Unions together with the Midland Closed Amateur Championship) are used for the awarding of points for the first ten places. Medals are awarded to the first three places on completion of the eleven events.

The Midland Mid-Am Championship

Introduced in 1992, and played over 18 holes, entries are restricted to the age of 40 and over. Age Groups are 40 to 44, 45 to 49, and 50 to 54 - taking into account the Senior event, there are thus age group champions for eight groups in the Midlands from 40 years of age.   The Champion holds the Humphries Quaich presented by the late Jack Humphries, a past President and Chairman of the Union and well known in R & A circles.

Midland Counties Youth League

Introduced in 1992 when Mr. Roy Case kindly gave the Roy Case Cup. Unfortunately, this event is no longer played due to lack of support from the Counties.

Champion of Junior County Champions

Introduced in 1997 and played over 36 holes, the winner holds the Les Pepper trophy which was purchased with monies received from the Golf Foundation when Mr. Pepper was awarded the Henry Cotton Award by the Golf Foundation.

Midland Senior County Team Championship

Introduced in 1998, and played over 18 holes, each Member County has a team of six players. The Express and Star kindly presented a trophy for the winning county. The winning County now represent the Region in the English finals.

The English County Team Championship & the English Junior County Team Championship

In both cases, the ten Midland Counties enter teams consisting of 6 players playing 36 hole medal-play with a view to winning the regional qualifying stage and representing the region in the final. The best individual score in the former event receives the Norman Russell Trophy, and the winning county in the Junior event receives the E.Sallis trophy.

The EGU Individual Membership Scheme

The Midland Qualifying stage is split into four handicap groups with the first and second of each group qualifying for the final.

This event is no longer run by the Midland Golf Union

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.