Midland Golf Union

Tel: 01754 763159EmailFollow Us

Steve Sansome (Birstall) wins the 2022 Midland Senior Spring

Steve Sansome (Birstall) wins the 2022 Midland Senior Spring at Mickleover Golf Club to add to his collection of titles from 2021.

Steve Sansome carded a gross 70 ahead of Mike Deeley (Enville) and Graham Marshall (Birstall) on 71 with Paul Eastwood (Hollinwell) and Bill Thompson (Kings Norton) on 72. Steve obviously benefited from the practice round the day before to negotiate the tight and sloping fairways. He said the practice round had been invaluable as course knowledge was a key factor.

Paul Clarke (Kedleston Park) recorded the lowest nett score of the day with a 69, Mark Caister (Kedleston Park) was a shot further back on 70 closely followed by three players on 71, Mike Deeley, Paul Eastwood and Graham Marshall who all featured in the gross prizes.

The Spring Tournament is the first round for the Brian Morris Trophy which is for over 65’s with Bill Thompson Kings Norton) the current leader on 72, closely followed by Jim Chambers (Beau Desert) on 76 and Jeff Burn (Chevin) on 77. Round two of this competition is the 2022 Midland Senior Autumn in September.

The top 25 places in the Midland Senior Spring qualify for the Senior Order of Merit but with many more qualifying events to take place the Order of Merit table will change many times between now and the end of the season.

Steve Sansome (Birstall) winner of 2022 Midland Senior Spring Trophy.

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.